top of page

Basanta Das


ICAR - Central Inland Fisheries Research Institute


Originally from Athilabaj, District Balasore Odisha, India, Dr. Basanta Das was educated at Orissa University of Agriculture and Technology (B.F.Sc. 1988, M.F.Sc. 1991, Ph.D. 1998). Did his Post-Doc at FRS Marine Lab, Aberden, Scotland, UK (2006-2007) and another Post-Doc at Bourns College of Engineering - University of California, UCR, Riverside, USA in 2010.

At present, Dr. Das has been serving as the Director at ICAR-Central Inland Fisheries Research Institute, Barrackpore, Kolkata, West Bengal from 30 June 2016 till date as well as President of Inland Fisheries Society of India. Also the President of Professional Fisheries Graduates Forum and President of the Orissa Fisheries College Alumni Association. Dr. Das has a long association of serving Indian Council of Agricultural Research. He started his career as a Scientist at ICAR-National Academy of Agricultural Research Management, Hyderabad (1994-95). After that, he served ICAR-Central Institute of Freshwater Aquaculture, Bhubaneswar, as Scientist from 1995 to 1998; as Scientist (Sr. Scale) from 1998 to 2003; as Sr. Scientist from 2003 to 2009, and as Principal Scientist from 2009 to 2016.

Recipient of several awards and Honours which include: Jawaharlal Nehru Award for outstanding post graduate research conferred by ICAR in 1999; Lal Bahadur Shastri Young Scientist Award conferred by ICAR for the biennium 1999-2000; Dr. Hiralal Chaudhuri Annual Awards 2001-2002; DBT Overseas Associateship 2005; Krushakbandhu Award by Orissa Krushak Samaj 2011; Dr. M.S. Swaminathan Award for Best Indian Fisheries Scientist by Professional Fisheries Graduates Forum2011; KrushiRatna Award from Orissa Krushak Samaj 2016; Eminent Zoologist of the year Award by Zoological Society of India 2017; KrushakGourav Award from Orissa Krushak Samaj 2017.

He has been nominated as Chairman/ Member of several Professional-international, National and State level Committees. He has been selected as Member, Executive Council, India Sceince Congress Association for the year 2020-21 and as Member, NASI Council (Biological Sciences), The National Academy of Sciences, India.

Dr. Das has been honoured with Fellowship of International Society Environmental protection (ISEP) and elected as Fellow, National Academy of Agricultural Sciences (NAAS) in 2019.

bottom of page